Some facilities have enabled two-factor authentication ('2FA') which requires that you enter a password and a fresh 6-digit code sent to you by SMS message every time you log in.

Tips to simplify logging on with 2FA

Many sites do not require 2FA, so it will be new for some users. To reduce the need to get a SMS code each time you log in, you can do the following:

1. If you access HosPortal on your personal device then close your browser window (A) rather than logging out (B) when you have finished with HosPortal. Or just leave the browser window open. Closing the browser window does not automatically log you out.

2. In your profile, increase your logout time. To do this:

  • go to your profile by selecting your name (C) and clicking Preferences (D).

  • on the logout time tab (E) change the logout time for your relevant devices (F). They can be as long as 14 days, which means that as long as you access HosPortal on that device at least once every 14 days you never need to log in, and therefore do not need to enter a 2FA code.

3. Finally, if you use a bookmark, make sure you bookmark the main HosPortal URL (which will take you back to the last page you were on):


https://roster.hosportal.com/

...and not the login URL, which will take you straight to the login page:

https://roster.hosportal.com/login

Creating and editing profiles when 2FA is enabled

Sites with 2FA enabled have some restrictions on the activities on each profile:

  • Generally, new users need to have both a mobile number and an email in their profile.

  • It is possible to create a profile with neither a mobile nor an email (e.g. to put a name on the roster) but it is not possible to create a login attached to that profile.

  • Once a profile is created it is not possible to delete the mobile number altogether because that will stop the user from being able to log in.

  • Because of the requirement to have a mobile number attached to an account, it is not possible to create a generic account that multiple people can log on to, unless those people also have shared access to the SMS messages.

Did this answer your question?